Gift Request from Hawaii

One of my friends called me this week with a special request to make a baby blanket for her.  She needs a special blanket for will be for a family member. The special bundle of joy is a boy and is joining the family sometime this September.  I am honored to respond to this request and need to start hopping on this project.

First step is a visit this morning to my one of favorite craft stores–Michael’s.  I found the perfect yarn.  I wanted something soft and cuddling.  My girlfriend thought blue would be appropriate and I agreed but when I saw the variegated blue skeins called “Funny Bunny Print,” I just had to get it.  This is the first time I will be working with Bernat pipsqueak yarn comes in 3.5 ounce skeins and is 100% polyester making it machine washable and dryable.  Perfect for a little bundle of joy!

A simple garter stitch is the perfect stitch for this textured yarn.  Using a 10.5 circular knitting needle I cast on 90 stitches giving me a width of 33 inches.  That will be great.  Easy pattern, great yarn and a fulfilling purpose contribute toward stitches rapidly flying off the needles.

Here’s a tease for you …

Watch for progress updates.

Leave a Reply

