Cacti Embroidery Hoop Art

Every little tike who lives in the southwest would love to add this trio to  their bedroom decor.  They are so easy to create.  You make your circle just a bit larger that the hoop it will set in once completed. To prevent the  muslin circle from raveling, I like to serge the edges.  Then you just transfer the design using a washable pen from any pattern.  I used a child’s coloring book to get these.  Using simple embroidery stitches and vivid-colored floss, you just let your creativity soar.  Once the embroidery is done, I add a felt backing and re-serge the edges to provide a neat finish.  As I surge the finishing edge, I add a 3 inch ribbon loop.

 

I like to group my art in a set of three.  So, this is what the cacti trio would look like.  Having a set of three allows you to arrange them  anyway that is pleasing to the eye.

Cacti Trio

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stitch It Again
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 17:16:14

    These are so cute! And I love your idea to use children’s coloring books for the designs.

    Reply

  2. Deborah Hargin
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 16:45:00

    Beverley, I am so excited to have found your blog! I was looking for information and examples of ribbon embroidery done on t-shirts. I really enjoy “paging” through your whole blog. A question: how do you recommend these embroidered shirts washed or cleaned?

    Reply

    • redbamsews
      Apr 21, 2016 @ 05:02:56

      Because I use iron on stabilizer (stiffening) on the inside of the t-shirt, it holds up quite well with washing. I machine wash in a gentle cycle. Be sure to turn the t-shirt inside out prior to washing.

      Reply

      • Deborah Hargin
        Apr 21, 2016 @ 20:03:56

        Thank you for your help! I’m excited about getting started on these shirts and feel confident and happy the recipients will easily be able to take good care of them. Again, thank you!

Leave a Reply

