Tropical Ironing Board Cover

Decided I wanted to try my hand at making my own personalized ironing board cover. Went through my fabric stash looking for an appropriate fabric. Selected a heavy upholstery fabric with a tropical feel. This is what the finished product looks like.

New ironing Board cover Finished ironing board cover.

The process I used was to trace the existing ironing board onto a large piece of paper. Then I added three inches around my outline stitch. Picked up an package of ironing board padding and cut it to the shape of the ironing board. Cut out the fabric piece. Serged the edges. Centered the padding onto the wrong side of my cutout fabric piece pinning in place. Folded an 5/8 inch hem. Sewed the padding in place and the hem leaving a one inch opening. Cut out the desired length of a cord and threaded it through the hem casing. Pulled to adjust the size.

Preparing cover for sewing

Preparing cover for sewing

Finished Ironing Board cover Another view of my new ironing board cover.

Leave a Reply

