Mustard Crocheted Yoke Top

mustard crochet yoke

This crochet yoke top is a perfect tee for the upcoming summer. The yoke was made with double strand 100% mercerized cotton thread. The color was mellow mustard. A size D crochet hook was used. Once the yoke was completed, it was blocked. Then a simple tee shirt pattern was used for the body. To mark the yoke, I placed the crocheted yoke on the pattern to mark the correct position. The tee shirt body was seams were finished on my serger. The armhole and hemline were finished with a two-row hemstitch.

mustard crochet top

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kdrebes@gmail.com
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 08:11:50

    Just what I’ve been looking for! Are these two t-shirt yoke patterns available?

    Reply

  2. Stitch It Again
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 11:55:54

    Beautiful! I would like to do something similar, but I would use an existing t shirt for the body.

    Reply

  3. Cynthia Eastman
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:12:42

    Where can I purchase the pattern for just the yoke?

    Reply

    • redbamsews
      Apr 28, 2015 @ 13:04:11

      I made this yoke from a sample and adjusted it to the size I wanted. I used a size 8 (metal) crochet hook. Foundation chain was 175 and joined to make a circle. Next I worked on the open weave part. After joining with a slip stitch, I chained 4 and sc in the second ch, ch 3, skip 1 ch, sc, repeating this pattern. I did 9 rows of this pattern. To begin the fan pattern, Row 1–sc, ch 3, (3x), 8 dc, repeat till end of row. This becomes the base of the fans. Row 2–sc, ch 3 in dc from fan, dc, ch 1, dc, repeat.
      Row 3–sc, ch 3 in dc (make cluster of 4-6 dc like the popcorn stitch, sc. repeat.
      You can repeat these three pattern rows 1 more time.
      Finishing rows on the edge consists of 3 more rows…
      Row 1–sc in each sc and 3 sc in each ch space till end of row.
      Row 2–ch 4 skip 5 ch, sc till end of row.
      Row 3–8dc sc, 8 dc, sc, till end of row. bind off.
      I hope this helps. Its not professionally written, but, if you use the pictures on my blog posts I think you can make this.

      Reply

      • Karen
        Apr 28, 2015 @ 13:08:27

        Thank you. I’m going to give it a try.

      • Karen
        Apr 28, 2015 @ 14:41:26

        I need to make the neckline smaller. What is the pattern repeat? IOW, how many initial chains should I work to create a neckline a size (or two) smaller and still keep the pattern? I wear a shoulder brace and I feel this might be too wide and would not cover the brace. . .I’d rather keep it “under wraps”. 🙂 My plan is to jazz up ordinary T-shirts by laying this yoke on an existing T-shirt and machine stitching around the lower edge of the yoke. Then, trim the T-shirt close to the stitch. In my mind’s eye this works; let’s see if my theory works.

      • redbamsews
        Apr 28, 2015 @ 14:44:53

        The best way to determine the size of the neck opening is to measure the size you think it may be. For example if your neck opening is 15 inches then start a foundation chain and measure exactly how many chains equals an inch. Just keep in mind that the fans were made in multiples of 8 (the number of DC that make the fan spokes). So, ultimately, you want the total number of your foundation chain to be divisible by 8. Hope this helps. I had to play with it.

      • Karen
        Apr 28, 2015 @ 14:56:22

        Thank you. That’s what I needed to know…..multiple of 8. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

