Cool Jersey Knit Ruffled Top

??????????????? ??????????????????????????????????????

I had this Jersey Knit fabric in my fabric stash which I thought would make a great blouse.  I used this Simplicity Sew Simple pattern and made a few modifications.  For one thing, I did not make the flowers that are on the original design.  I thought it would be a bit too much.  The neckline was a bit too low for me so I added a bib from the same fabric.  Instead of traditional facings, I used matching bias tape.  The interior seams are all serged.  At the waistline, instead of making a casing, I neatly finished the waist seam line and stitched it down (to lay flat).  Then using the desired measured elastic, I sewed the ends together making a circle.  I found 4 equal points on this circle and marked them with a pin.  Then I aligned these positions with the center front and back as well as the sides.  Then using a zig-zag stitch and stretching the elastic as I sewed, I attached the elastic.  I used 1/4 inch elastic which gives enough body to this piece so it fits snugly.  Now, I have a perfect summer top.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 18:00:56

    Cute! I really like that.

    Reply

    • redbamsews
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 13:12:02

      Thanks Judy. I wore it to church the other day with a black pair of capris. It was perfect for the warm, muggy tropical day. I think the jersey knit fabric will travel well so I’m thinking of packing it for my upcoming vacation.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

