Spring Dress

Continuing with my sewing, I decided to make something for me. Searching through my fabric stash, I came across this jersey knit orange/floral fabric. Since orange is my favoritecolor, it seemed a natural choice. Looking through the bins of patterns, I selected a simple tee-shirt dress pattern, Simplicity Sew Simple #1989.

Burst of Flowers

Burst of Flowers

I wanted to add an emblishment to this dress, in an attempt to dress it up, and remembered a blouse I spotted in a store window as I walked our mall the other day. The blouse was a white knit with a braid of the same fabric. To replicate this technique, I cut three 1.5 inch wide strips the length of the fabric. Folded them in half and stitch a 5/8 seam on the raw edge, turned the strip, and ironed it flat. Then I stitched all three strips together and braided them securing the other end. Next, I pinned the braid to the finished neckline and handstitched it in place. The joint is in the back.

Full view

Full view

If I want to change the look, I can add a belt. See …
Belted Spring Dress

One final pressing and this dress is now in my closet ready to wear to mass. This dress will be great for traveling as it doesn’t wrinkle and won’t take up much space in the suitcase.

Here I am wearing my new spring dress.
Finished Spring Dress

Leave a Reply

