Happy National Hobby Month

Did you know that January is known as the National Hobby Month?

The dictionary describes a hobby as an activity or interest pursued outside one’s regular occupation, primarily for pleasure.

A hobby should be enjoyable and something you can stick to.   

Did you know that having a hobby can help you to remain healthy?

Having a hobby can keep you mentally alert, it can reduce your stress level, thereby reducing your blood pressure, and can help you from being depressed.

As you know, I have several hobbies and they all center around needlework.  I love sewing.  When I’m not sewing then I can be found either crocheting or knitting.  These hobbies help me to remain in balance.  They improve my manual dexterity, help to increase my concentration, allows me to develop my creativity, and overall, helps me to remain healthy.

So, if you do not have a hobby then go and look for one.  A hobby can take on many forms.  It does not have to be sedantary it can be physical.  For some it could involve physical activities like hiking, biking, bowling, running, canoeing, etc.  Pursue a hobby it will lead to a more fulfilling life.  Happy National Hobby Month.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nothy lane
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 11:50:12

    Sewing helps me to take my mind off things – especially when I am stressing over something. Besides, sewing is useful and so, its not a waste of time.

    It makes sense that January is hobby month – we’re all too broke from spending so much on the holidays that you have to find something low-key to do.

    Reply

  2. redbamsews
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 20:24:39

    Thanks for responding. I agree with you that it does make sense that January is National Hobby month. We usually start the new year off with resolutions and as you stated in some case paying off the Christmas bills. Going back to sewing helps to fill our time, expand our creativity side and helps us to do nice things for others. Happy Sewing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

