Refashioned Tee

Here’s the follow-up to a previous post on the refashioning project.  I decided to take a simple sleeveless tee and re-fashion it with a crocheted yoke.  I stumbled across the directions during one of my restless moods.  I had saved the directions in a binder for future use.  Who would think this would be it.

First step was to crochet the yoke.  Selected a turquoise or teal color which is different for me, but, I thought it would match the existing palette of my wardrobe.  Once the yoke was done, I pressed it (steamed press) to block it.  Then I worked on the body of the tee.  Next step was to stitch the two pieces together to make a new top.  Here are the photos outlining the process.

Original tee shirt

Figuring out the placement for the new yoke.

After measuring out placement cut off the neckline area.

Create a hem for the upper body edge.

                                         

The embleshments were appliqued butterflies.  They helped to spruce up an otherwise plain crocheted yoke.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan McCall
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 05:41:21

    Wow! This is really neat!

    Reply

  2. Morgan Sin
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 00:19:02

    This look good, the colour suits you!

    Reply

  3. Jeanne Marie
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 09:35:48

    This is a wonderful project. I have been seeing so many success stories on refashioning that I’m eager to jump in. I have some things in my closet that could use a spruce up, and if I’m not wearing them now, no loss if I mess them up. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

  4. redbamsews
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 09:40:31

    Thanks, Jeanne Marie. Give it a try. You’re right. If it does not work out, it is no big deal. It’s a learning in progress and that is all that counts. We try, we learn, we grow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

