National Sewing Month Contest

Peach A-line skirt                       Scallops in the making

Here are the pictures I submitted for the above-mentioned contest.  The theme is to illustrate our love for sewing.  I copied the pattern pieces from a New Look pattern.  I then changed the hemline to have scallops.  The purpose was to have inverted hearts.  I then trimmed the outline of the hearts to make them distinct.  I found this neat orange with yellow polka dots grossgrain ribbon.  Topped each tip of the heart with a yellow button.  There are 6 hearts.  I constructed a mock yoke with the grossgrain trim.  As I wear my blouses out and not tucked in, this added touch could have been eliminated.

The fabric is a peach eyelet and is lined with a peach polyester cotton fabric.  There is a back zip closure and a waistband.  The waistband was added for my oldest daughter, who detests elastic waistbands.  I was inspired to design this skirt from a 1950s heart shaped apron.  I’m planning to wear this as part of the self-stitched challenge.  Will post separately, top  may change.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. redbamsews
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 18:38:32

    When I look at my full-length picture, I realize my skirt calls attention to my hips. That’s okay, That’s who I am. A little bottom heavy, but, I won’t blow over in a storm.

    Reply

  2. Morgan Sin
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 02:39:49

    The skirt is really sweet! I think you got that 1950s inspired look down 🙂 The orange trim is a nice touch, I think it would be fun to wear an orange top with it!
    And I just noticed the link in your blog roll, thank you! I’ll create my list this weekend and return the favour 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jeanne Marie
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 19:59:08

    I love the creativity in this and the fact that you entered the contest! It really has that vintage apron feel to it. I think my favorite element is the button accents. I’ve seen lots of pillows in the stores and magazines with buttons sewn on strictly for decorative purposes. I’ll have to find a way to incorporate that into one of my projects.

    Reply

    • redbamsews
      Sep 13, 2011 @ 20:11:01

      Thanks Jeanne. I had fun creating this skirt. The more I search other sewing blogs and see what my sister sewing bloggers are interested in my own interests are peaked. Seeing the revived interest in the retro look reminds me of the ladies of the fifties and their style. My mom and her friends wore many of these styles. It felt rewarding to complete this project.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

