Cool Hawaiian Shift

Empire-waisted A-line Shift
Pattern: Butterick B5642  Description:  A-line empire-style yoked shift.  This shift is lined.  The empire-style is finished using double fold bias tape. Pattern alterations:  I made View A of this pattern.  The bodice is fitted with pleats.  However, I took out the pleats on the skirt and inserted to tucks on the yoke bodice.  Did not add a zipper as the neckline opening was large enough. Comments:  I lined this shift with a cream lining. The triangular bib, following the pattern specifications, was too small.  So, I had to enlarge it and cut and sew another one.   Green and coral floral print Empire-waist A-line Shift
More pictures of this dress:
        Sleeveless A-line Shift                Empire-waisted A-line ShiftEmpire-yoke front view       Floral Empire-waist Shift
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. redbamsews
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 20:50:12

    When I sewed this outfit, I followed the directions as provided. I did so, but, was uncomfortable with the process. Consequently, I undid part of it and re-assembled according to my normal assembling process.

    Reply

  2. Megan McCall
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 08:44:56

    I like the neckline a lot. And the dress looks really nice on you. 🙂

    Reply

  3. redbamsews
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 08:35:39

    Got several compliments when I wore this to work. Thanks everyone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

