Vibrant Floral Shift

Orange Hawaiian Print Dress
Front full ViewFront close up
Pattern:  New Look 6720
Description:  Short-sleeved, polyester cotton dress with a ruffled neckline.  The ruffle is more flounce like.  The dress has both bust and waist darts.  Back zipper is done with a flap.
Resembles picture on the pattern envelope?  Yes.
Sew again?  Most likely.
Pattern alterations:  The front neckline is designed to have a button closure that is located on the interior of the front open.  I decided to use a hook and eye closure.  Pattern calls for interfacing for the ruflle.  I did this did, but, if I use polyester cotton again, I will omit the interfacing.  Comments:  Since I already had this polyester cotton fabric, I thought this would make a great summer dress.  I’m happy with it.  Next time, I’m thinking I will try a rayon fabric.  See close up of front ruffle neckline.
Vibrant Shift Neckline

Close Up

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan McCall
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 08:43:37

    Absolutely LOVE this one!

    Reply

  2. redbamsews
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 08:52:18

    Thanks. It’s a bit more fitted, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

