Sew a Simple Tube Skirt

Simple Tube Skirt (no pattern needed)

Single Knit SkirtDescription:  Black and gray checkered print single knit fabric.  Elastic waistband that with a top stitching at top of waistband to reduce bulk.  Unlined skirt.

Sew another?  Yes.  The one hour window and ease of this project makes it very attractive.  I also have a large stash of fabric that I can search through.  Next time, though, I’m lining the skirt.

Pattern:  No commercial pattern used.  See Comments below.

Comments:  Used pattern design from Crafty Brett Bara as outlined in her new book entitled, Sewing in a Straight Line.  I was quite taken with this project found in the chapter, “How to Sew a Skirt in One Hour”.  Following the directions I made this skirt.  Just needed my hip measurement, plus 5/8″ for seams, and my desired length (including allowances for hem and waist).  I drew out these dimensions on the reverse side of the fabric using a tailor’s chalk.

Pattern alterations:  When sewing, I just added the top stitching row at the top edge of the waist band in an attempt to reduce bulk.  Since I have a heavier silhouette, I do not want to call to much attention this area.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan McCall
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 08:39:35

    Is that elastic?!? You know how I feel about you wearing elastic waistbands!

    Reply

  2. redbamsews
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 08:49:11

    Yes, I know how you feel about elastic. But, sometimes, elastic can be a girl’s best friend–bloating. Besides, I wear my blouses out anyway. There wasn’t enough fabric a more fitting type of skirt.

    Reply

  3. http://www.allaroundnevada.com
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 18:55:31

    I would definitely not recommend these as ways to
    break the ice however. “Arsenio was a big hit way
    back when, he exited prematurely, and aren’t we all just plain tired with Jay Leno and Letterman.

    After you do all this, you are ready to start performing in front
    of people for money.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

